• Search
  • Member List
  • Help
  • Random Thread

• Discussion An Old Man's Guide To Buying PC Games
    [Image: 6282.png]

You live; you learn.

You live a really long time; you start to figure it out.

I started playing games on PC since the entire screen had exactly 64,000 pixels, however, I openly admit that I have not been buying games for very long, at all. I only started buying a lot of games in the last 5-6 years. When I started streaming on Twitch, it made me look for new games in a way that I never have. I starting playing games that I had never even tried, like Rocket League and COD because viewers were asking to see me play them. I pre-purchased new releases (like CyberPunk and Cold War) so that I could do a release party and engage my viewers. I bought and played community games that are absolutely worthless without a bunch of people to play with.

In all of that time and purchasing all of those games (largely made possible by subs and donations from my kind viewers), I did learn quite a bit about how to avoid getting burned, and also how to get the same game without letting go of so much of your hard-earned dough.

First of all, lets start with the free stuff. I have a list of games on my Steam in the triple digits, mostly because there are dozens of games in that list that I got completely free, just by keeping up with online lists that show which game developer is giving away (or heavily discounting) their games. PC Magazine did a piece on this a while back, but I just hang out in a couple of Discords that happen to have a frequent poster that reports every time someone is giving away a game. Examples (all free): Remnant, PGA Tour 2K21, NBA 2K20, the entire Elder Scrolls game series except Skyrim, and tons of other games that I can't think of.