Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
<
[-]
Welcome To Rant Central
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:

Password:

when your ideas fail, turn to Rant Central
Every now and then I come browse RC's Music section just to see what's been posted. I noticed some time ago one of the members posted an antiquity/classical music thread, which speaks to me personally bc I am currently studying music at Troy. Which brings me to my point- I'm writing a research paper for Music History on any topic of my choice, as long as the theme is from the Enlightenment to Contemporary music. Choosing the topic is the hardest part for me. I've had some ideas, but I just keep tossing them back and forth. I thought about .... writing on the Kuchka or "Mighty Handful", the outburst of Nationalism in Music in the late Romantic Era, or maybe the history of the musical canon (specifically why certain composers and pieces made it in, while others were ignored).
There are just so many topics that I could choose from, I don't really know where to begin. Any of you particularly interested in "art" music, as it is sometimes referred to, please let me in on your thoughts.
"Let the music be your master. Will you heed the master's call?"
nationalism represented in music would be interesting as you can tie in the psychology of group thought, advertising, fashion and egotism.
"Yeah. I understand the mechanics of it, shithead. I just don't understand how this is any less retarded than what I'm suggesting." - Kiley; Housebound.
If I do nationalism represented in music, which nations should I focus on? France, Germany, Russia, England, Italy? Your typical Western European countries?...
you could focus on all of them... as for a large period of time, most of them were all run by one large incestuous family.

i'd say pick the weaker, more daintier countries... like france or italy.