Current time: 08-18-2017, 07:43 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
thank God for art
02-01-2012, 10:14 AM
thank God for art
Art has always been important in my life. When I had nothing else I have always had my writing (even that has been taken from me only to be replaced). I have never been a musician and I am a fairly decent sketch artist. Many different aspects of the arts have played signifigant roles in my development as an adult. One song that I will always remember and "feel" is BED OF LIES by Matchbox 20. Although music is not one of my talents, it seems that this song imprinted on me more than most of my writing or drawing or the writing and drawing of others. I love Shakespeare and King but I can't say that they have changed my life. I love van Gough and Dali as well but neither have they influened my development as a human being. So...thank you Rob Thomas. Thank you for "marking it down to learnin"

Fistfull of xanax
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-16-2012, 01:43 AM
RE: thank God for art
"Thank God for art." INDEED! I can't tell you how many songs, poems, dramas, have helped me get through some of my most memorable moments. Like these days. . . My theme song is that new song by Drake "So proud", because even though it is a hip-hop song, which most people wouldn't consider very inspirational, the words are just motivation to my ears to push through and obtain my goals. Idk, maybe it's a female college kid thing... but I digress. And today I read a poem that has been on my mind all day long. It's really famous, most of you have probably heard it sometime in your life.
Invictus:
Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears