Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
<
[-]
Welcome To Rant Central
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:

Password:

"Why don't you do just like me?" !!??
Thumbs Down 
Ok, so this is my first time ever submitting any rant on here, but I was so pissed today that I simply had to.

I'm generally pissed at people who doubt whether my decisions are the best decisions for me. Lately I've encountered so many people who try to "help" me decide what to do in my life by advicing me to do just like them. And I don't even need advice!

I just graduated upper secondary school and where I'm from it's normal to take a year off to do whatever you like. Alot of people like to travel far away to try something new, which is cool - I, however, just got my first real job here at home and I plan to work this year, saving up money and gain experience. But for some reason that just isn't good enough for other people when I tell them about it. "Laura, why don't you go on interrail all over Europe, just like me?" - "Why don't just go study abroad, just like me?". Guess what, because that's not what I want to do! If I really wanted to, believe me, I would have done just that, but I don't.

I just hate it when people think that they know more about what's right for me than I do. And I am aware that alot of people do this because they are insecure about their own decision. But I still get extremely pissed when they shame me for what *I* want to do with MY life. If you want to go work at a farm in Italy, that's cool. But I don't. And it's not friendly or caring in any way. It's very insensitive and very off-putting. I'm proud of getting my job - which is a pretty good job, I might add - and I refuse to get peer pressured into doing something else just because it's considered cool or adventurous by someone else. And I get really disappointed when my good friends are being so incredibly rude.

Thanks for letting me get that off my chest.