Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
<
[-]
Welcome To Rant Central
You have to register before you can post on our site.

Username:

Password:

Nexus 7 version 2 tablet
[Image: event-main-1-google-new-nexus-7-2.jpg]

I finally got myself a tablet computer. Smile
I bought the new Asus made Google Nexus 7 version II 32 GB model.
It runs Android 4.3 (Jelly Bean)
It has gotten very good reviews:
Google Nexus 7 Review
Google Nexus 7 (2013) Android tablet

This video compares the Google Nexus 7 with the Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0

I am new to Android and touch screen technology, since I don't own a smart phone.
This is a very helpful instruction video:

Never underestimate the power of human stupidity.
- Robert A. Heinlein
After playing with my new Nexus 7 tablet for two days, I decided I wanted root access to the device.
I downloaded a a few Windows based toolkits to do just that, and discovered the hard way that they couldn't see the Nexus 7 properly when I had it connected to my Windows XP Pro machine.
Only one toolkit came with the USB driver for the Nexus 7.
Without the proper USB driver, nothing else will work, when you are trying to control the device from a PC.
On Windows XP, the necessary ADB drivers for the USB connection would not install.

The toolkit described here worked fine from my Windows 7 Pro laptop:
All-In-One Google Nexus 7 2013 Root Toolkit is Now Available

I followed the instructions to the letter, and made a backup of all my installed apps before doing anything else.
Now I have an unlocked Nexus 7 running Android 4.3 with root access. Smile
- Robert A. Heinlein
Doing much typing on the virtual keyboard that you get on the screen on a tablet computer sucks.
So I bought an Azio LED Large Print Backlit Bluetooth 3.0 Keyboard (KB335) to go with my tablet.
It came with 6' mini-USB to USB patch cable than is twice as long as the short 3' one supplied with the Nexus 7 tablet.