Current time: 08-21-2017, 01:21 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Microcontroller development system
02-27-2014, 07:09 PM (This post was last modified: 02-27-2014 07:28 PM by velvetfog.)
Microcontroller development system
I have been thinking for a while about getting my head back into programming.
I graduated from technical college with a diploma in industrial programming a whole lot of years ago, back in the 1970s.
Of cause, everything has changed since then.

There are now some custom circuits that I would like to build that I can't buy anywhere.
I would like to implement them using as few chips as possible and drawing as little power as possible.
So I decided to put together a development system for the Atmel AVR series of micro-controllers.
My choice was the Arduino development platform.
I decided the Arduino UNO development board was the best choice to go with.

But I wasn't willing to pay 20 Euro for it, when the Chinese clones of it sell for only US$9 with free shipping.
The Arduino hardware circuit designs are open source, so the Chinese made clone cards designed to interface with it are ridiculously cheap, just a few dollars each.
I made a few eBay purchases, primarily from vendor alice1101983 in Hong Kong.
I got myself an Arduino UNO clone card, some interface cards, three 2-line LCD displays and a bread boarding system with a selection of patch wires, all for less than $40.

The IDE (Integrated Development System) containing the custom C compiler is free, and can be downloaded from the Arduino web site.
There are a lot of open source software developed for the Atmel AVR CPUs, and there is a strong support comunity with several Internet forum sites supporting the technology.
And web sites such as AVRfreaks.

The AVR series of micro controllers have been used extensively by the auto industry.
They are being used to implement custom dashboard functions by manufacturers such as BMW, Chrysler and Daimler-Benz.