Current time: 06-25-2017, 12:30 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Dumb Firefox question
06-13-2014, 11:22 AM (This post was last modified: 06-13-2014 11:23 AM by LZA.)
Post: #1
Dumb Firefox question
Hey All,

If you want to open a new tab In Firefox, I used to have it pop up as my home page...Now, it pops up as a blank page.

I had to uninstall / reinstall as it was corrupted (yes, I'm running WINDOWS 7 ultimate).

I've looked and looked. Usually this is crap I'd figure out myself, but I thing the place to change how new tabs are open changed, and I'm stumped.

I've tried tools / options / tabs but it's not there???

Any suggestions?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2014, 11:57 AM
Post: #2
RE: Dumb Firefox question
1) Type about:config
2) Scroll down to browser.newtab.url
3) Right click and Modify the value to that of your homepage
:-) (Thank you google)

Alternatively, there seems to be an add-on for this.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox...e-new-tab/

Progress might have been all right once, but it has gone on too long -- Ogden Nash
Find all posts by this user + LZA
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2014, 12:17 PM (This post was last modified: 06-13-2014 12:18 PM by LZA.)
Post: #3
RE: Dumb Firefox question
Wow, Thanks! It worked. I didn't realize that the Firefox had a registry type structure like my computer has (that's what about:config reminds me of anyway).

Anyway, now that you've showed me this at least I can goof around and learn more about it!! Hats OffHats Off

Thanks again my friend!

PS: I tried googling it too but must have not asked the right questions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2014, 12:38 PM
Post: #4
RE: Dumb Firefox question
I asked Google "firefox homepage in new tab".
Guess am google friendly ;-)

As always the google auto-prompt was too eager to help me.
In a few years, I think google will automatically repair these things for us :-p

Enjoy fiddling the config settings.

Progress might have been all right once, but it has gone on too long -- Ogden Nash
Find all posts by this user + LZA
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2014, 08:53 PM
Post: #5
RE: Dumb Firefox question
I forgot to give you props for this Raidobox.. This has helped me tremendously!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Another n00by question ColeMacGrath 3 1,495 01-10-2015 10:39 AM
Last Post: ColeMacGrath
Information Need Help? Got A Question? sporkium 0 1,352 07-25-2012 08:21 PM
Last Post: sporkium
  VB.NET Question? 2010kaiser 0 642 06-19-2012 04:58 PM
Last Post: 2010kaiser



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)