Current time: 08-16-2017, 08:16 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Club Presidency
04-27-2017, 10:42 PM
Sad Club Presidency
I am a pretty hard-working student in junior year at my school and have been a member of a club that focuses on future health professionals. Last week, I ran for the president role of the club and tied with a sophomore, which was shocking to me, as I had a speech prepared and she didn't. Knowing it was because she had family friends and close friends in the club, I voted to go for re-elections, which were held today.

Not to sound cocky or pretentious, but I am far more qualified than she is.

I had campaigned to club members in the time before re-elections, giving an elevator pitch to as many people as I could sway, and four of them agreed to vote for me. The catch was, they would be unable to attend the meeting that day due to sports events, transportation issues, etc. but agreed to email the club adviser, sending in their vote for me.

Well lo and behold, all of my votes through email were invalid, and none were counted. All four members did not get to have a say because they were simply not present at the meeting.

Come the day of re-elections, I enter the classroom where the club is held and more than half of the attendees are faces I've never seen before. Friends of my opponent who are not club members and have only come to vote for her. I was devastated and clearly outnumbered, and desperately plead for fairer ground to the adviser. However, because it was not stated on the club constitution that non-members couldn't vote, I was S.O.L.

I had many friends offer to attend the club during re-elections, but I turned them all down because I would feel to guilty, and it would've felt no different from cheating.

So how does it make any sense at all that the emails of the actual club members were voided but not the votes of non-club members?